Under the Covers

My favorite surprise is discovering an artist’s rendition of another artist’s song. The way they play with the sound and make it completely their own just tickles in the best way. I thought of this idea while driving in the car with my brother and he started playing “And I Love Her”. This is originally a Beatles song, but I was floored when I heard Kurt Cobain’s voice coming out of the speakers. Kurt brings a level of pain to the same lyrics that heavily contrasts The Beatles’ optimism. The best part about covers is the way the same lyrics can have a completely different sound depending on how they’re interpreted.

With this idea brewing, I’ve decided to compile some of my favorite covers, as well as some that are just so different

  1. And I Love Her- Kurt Cobain

Starting off with the inspiration for this endeavor, And I love Her. Kurt lends his angsty vocals to an otherwise whimsical song. The Beatles have such hope in their voices, while Kurt seems to be longing for a love lost

2. Bad – Billie Eilish

I would believe you if you told me this was a Billie original. She took this Micheal Jackson song and made it completely her own. Her soft voice brings a sultry take to a rock classic.

3. Wildflowers – Miley Cyrus

In my opinion, this isn’t even one of Miley’s best covers, but Wildflowers is my favorite song, and the way she gives such a light floatiness to it gives me chills every time. She has a powerful voice but she knows when a song needs a gentle sweetness.

4. Dark Side medley – Hozier

I would listen to Andrew Hozier-Byrne sing a Denny’s menu, but give this man an orchestra and one of the best albums ever produced and he will SING. His powerful voice has a way of captivating a listener until you’re in a trance. I swear this man is a siren

Leave a comment